Pumpkin Sheet Cake

I’ve been dying to make something with pumpkin all week but nothing sounded that great (well pumpkin roll did but I wanted to try something new). I actually intended to try something very different since pumpkin roll is the only thing I’ve ever made with pumpkin! I know what a shame but we’ll change that soon. Well some how my pumpkin roll craving took over cause this cake is pretty much straight up pumpkin roll in cake form 🙂 Not that I’m complaining… I love pumpkin roll! This was equally delicious.

Pumpkin Sheet Cake

I didn’t have any nuts in the pantry but this would be great with some toasted walnuts or pecans on top, or mixed into the cake batter. You could even toss in some chocolate chips and make a chocolate frosting instead! Yum!

Pumpkin Sheet Cake

Pumpkin Sheet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Cake:
4 eggs
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup applesauce
2 cups pumpkin
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda

Icing:
8-ounce package cream cheese, softened
1 cup sifted confectioners’ sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.Using an electric mixer at medium speed, combine the eggs, sugar, oil, apple sauce and pumpkin until light and fluffy. Stir together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, salt and baking soda. Add the dry ingredients to the pumpkin mixture and mix at low speed until thoroughly combined and the batter is smooth. Spread the batter into a greased 13×10″ baking pan. Bake for 30 minutes. Let cool completely before frosting.

To make the icing: Using an electric mixer in a medium bowl, beat cream cheese until smooth. Add the sugar and mix at low speed until combined. Stir in the vanilla and mix again. Spread on cooled cake.

4 Responses

  1. Oh my pumpkins, this looks sooooo good. I have also been dying to make something with pumpkin. But with 80 degree weather I can not get into the fall mood. I starred this and will make it sometime (hopefully soon)!! Thank you for sharing.

  2. I love pumkin too, and will try that cake next time baking.
    Thanks for sharing, The new site looks great.
    X M

  3. this is one of my favoritet things for the fall 🙂 my mom has a similar recipe that is wonderful!! i am also going to try your pumpkin roll this fall 🙂

  4. I know this was an older post, so hopefully you catch my comment! But anyway, I’ve been searching for pumpkin cake recipes to make for thanksgiving next week and this looks sooo good! The only thing is that they don’t have applesauce in japan (can you believe it!), so I’d have to make my own, unless you think there’s another substitution for it? It’s ok if you don’t have an answer 🙂

Leave a comment