Lemon Yogurt Cake

Lemon Yogurt Cake

Lemon Yogurt Cake. Honestly, its something I skipped right past when I got my Barefoot Contessa at Home cookbook years ago. I’m just not that into citrus desserts. Hubby loves them though and as I bake more goodies for him, my fondness of all things citrus is growing. This was definitely a lemon cake but I surprisingly loved it. The thing I think I love most about this recipe is the lack of butter. You won’t even notice when you taste it but your waist line and butt will be appreciative 🙂

I love how versatile this cake could be as well. The combinations could be endless! This would be fabulous with other citrus fruit variations such as grapefruit like Shawnda of Confections of a Foodie Bride has done, or blood oranges, or lime! Oh or oranges with chocolate chunks! Yum!

I’m planning on whipping this up again for Mother’s Day! Its fabulous!

Lemon Yogurt Cake

Lemon Yogurt Cake
Yields: 1 Loaf

1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 cup plain whole-milk  yogurt
1 1/3 cups sugar, divided
3 large eggs
zest of one lemon
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice

For the glaze:
1 cup confectioners’ sugar
2 Tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Grease and flour an 8 1/2 by 4 1/4 by 2 1/2-inch loaf pan.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt into 1 bowl. In another bowl, whisk together the yogurt, 1 cup sugar, the eggs, lemon zest, and vanilla. Slowly whisk the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. With a rubber spatula, fold the vegetable oil into the batter, making sure it’s all incorporated. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for about 50-60 minutes, or until a cake tester placed in the center of the loaf comes out clean.

Meanwhile, cook the 1/3 cup lemon juice and remaining 1/3 cup sugar in a small pan until the sugar dissolves and the mixture is clear. Set aside.

When the cake is done, allow it to cool in the pan for 10 minutes. Carefully place on a baking rack over a sheet pan. While the cake is still warm, pour the lemon-sugar mixture over the cake and allow it to soak in. Cool.

For the glaze, combine the confectioners’ sugar and lemon juice and pour over the cake.

Source: Barefoot Contessa at Home, 2005

12 Responses

  1. Nice looking loaf but I would have cut my slice much thicker!

  2. Looks delicious and what BEAUTIFUL pictures!!

  3. mmm oranges with chocolate chunks would be FABULOUS!!

  4. This looks great. I think I will make it this weekend.

  5. Yum! That looks really good!

  6. love lemon cake looks wonderful and great presentation

  7. Ah yes Greek yogurt, the beginning of the end. This cake looks great.

  8. Your loaf looks delicious! thanks for stopping by and good luck with the cookbook giveaway.

  9. I have this cookbook, and have seen many bloggers make this, but I haven’t yet. I really need to!!

  10. […] Yogurt Pound Cake (stumbled upon here, reposted with no adaptations from […]

  11. My favorite! I just posted the same cake, but with blueberries!

  12. This looks amazing! Especially with all that icing dripping down the side 🙂

Leave a comment